FAQs

On this page we try to give you answers to your questions about indoor cycling and our software.

What is the easiest and quickest way to start with icTrainer?

We have created a small quick start guide (PDF) for you to get started: https://ictrainer.de/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/Quickstart-Guide_en.pdf

Why do I have to pedal more watts than set in ERG mode?

Unfortunately, some roller trainers cannot reduce the resistance enough with low watt specifications and high cadence depending on the gear ratio selected. Sometimes it helps to choose the easiest gear on the bike.
Example: https://support.garmin.com/de-AT/?faq=4PAzxvbvOL6AliMxKaShQ9

Why does icTrainer only support devices with BluetoothLE and not ANT+?

There is therefore no need for an ANT+ USB stick to connect to a tablet, laptop or computer. However, all these devices support BluetoothLE by default. You can continue to measure all training performance in parallel via ANT+ on your normal fitness tracker (bike computer, fitness watch, …) and also transfer it to the app of your choice and we communicate with the devices via BluetoothLE; we are not forcing you into another cosmos; for Windows and MacOS, however, you can now connect to ANT+ with your ANT+ heart rate belt or your fitness watch, provided you have installed an ANT+ USB stick on your Windows/Mac computer.

How can I synchronize my training results with an external platform (e.g. Garmin, TrainingPeaks, Today’s Plan, Trava, Tredict, Intervals.icu)?

First of all, you should select your training platform in the USER PROFILE of our software. It is important for some platforms that you use the same email address in our software and in the training platform.
icTrainer_user

If a red button with e.g. “Todays Plan / TrainingPeaks / Tedict” appears on the start page, then workouts can also be downloaded from the training platform.

After finishing your workout, we will ask you if you want to SAVE the RESULT and if you want the data to be uploaded to your preferred training platform.
Garmin_upload

For most training platforms we offer an automatic upload. Please also have a look at our corresponding explanatory videos (e.g. Today’s Plan).

Special feature: Unfortunately, Garmin Connect currently only offers a semi-automatic upload. For this you can proceed as follows: After your first workout, we will create a connection with your default browser to Garmin Connect (if you allow cookies in your browser, the login will be automatic in the future and you will land directly at the right place – otherwise you have to log in to Garmin Connect manually each time) and you can upload the workout file manually. By the way, the download directory can be set individually under SETUP.
Garmin_upload2

Of course you can also open old workouts and upload them manually to Garmin Connect. Just click the corresponding button on the training page and download the .tcx file or upload it to Garmin:
Upload

Why does the icTrainer interface appear so complicated/overloaded at first glance?

A very important point for us is that you can also use all other icTrainer functions during training. For example, it is also possible to adjust, spool, add music to a running training session and much more. This is the same as outside, where you can also decide at short notice to lengthen or shorten the unit or to ride one more climb (and thus one more load interval). However, this is only possible with an interface (UI-UserInterface), which may initially appear a bit overloaded. We promise improvement here. But you quickly get used to it and soon appreciate this “feature”.

What does the “ic” mean in icTrainer?

Pssssst….. originally the software was actually called Indoor Cycling Trainer.
Even if we now enable you to use many more end devices 😉

Can I use the software on multiple end devices?

Purchased once = usable on all end devices – even across operating systems 😉

Procedure:
First you buy our cheap license in the app store of your main device.
Then go to the license purchase dialog on the second device and enter the same email address as on the main device and click on the REPEAT LICENSE button.
The software then notices that there is already a license for the e-mail address on another end device and you then have to enter a four-digit security code, which we will send to your e-mail address at the same time.

Why are meters of altitude counted so differently?

Depending on which device or which software you use to look at the same route, the altitude readings are very different? There is a mathematical reason for this. Of course, the barometer on one device can be more accurate than on another device. But this doesn’t really matter that much. Neither is the reason whether the device is currently calibrated or not. The altitude meters are counted relatively, without calibration “only” the initial altitude and the final altitude are wrong. What is more important is when does a vertical meter count!
If a route is only uphill, i.e. each measuring point is higher than the previous measuring point, it is very easy. The altitude meters are the highest minus the lowest measuring point. But what if a route is wavy and a measuring point is a few centimeters below and sometimes above the last measuring point? Depending on the device/software, there is a limit as to when an altitude meter counts at all. This is often, but not always, around 3 meters. In other words, if you ride 2.99m “uphill” and then 2.99m “downhill”, this is not counted as an altitude meter, but as a flat route with 0 meters in altitude, the same applies to 10cm uphill, 10cm downhill, 10cm uphill, 10cm downhill. .. This is exactly where the logic often lies in the procedures where Strava and GarminConnect “recalculate” the altitude meters and arrive at the values that we know.
And this is exactly the reason why the values are very close together on the right climbs, but far apart on wavy or flat routes. On a relatively flat stretch, the difference between the centimeter-precise addition of the altitude meters and the smoothing is in the factor 3 range, and the better the barometer, the smaller the difference.

Here are a few comparisons based on a route of the Challenge Roth ridden with a Garmin bike computer (first lap plus descent, ie 93.6 km, the second lap is just under 85 km long), which illustrate this very well:
The resulting GPX file has 11,236 individual points. If you count the meters in altitude to the nearest centimetre, you get 1,397 meters in altitude (a). If you calculate out all changes in altitude less than 3m, you get 701hm (b).
The original route comes to 803hm with GarminConnect with altitude correction (c) and without altimeter correction (ie barometric) to f=709hm (d). We see that thus (b) and (d) only 8 meters apart. This should be considered a realistic value.
icTrainer smooths the route in GPX mode with an average of 15 seconds each, so you still get 751 points with 804hm to the centimeter (e) and again all changes in altitude less than 3m calculated 699hm (d). Thus the value corresponds to (d) from icTrainer again almost exactly the above values (b) and (d).
If you now upload the route traveled in icTrainer to GarminConnect, you get 901hm there with altitude correction (g) and without altitude correction to 702hm (H). Again, we see the value (h) is very close to (d), (b) and (d).
You can see the wide range of results here. Incidentally, Challenge Roth specifies 1,200 meters in altitude for the entire route, which would mean 625 meters in altitude on the first lap plus descent and 575 meters in altitude for the second lap. This figure is therefore calculated to be significantly lower.
Similar information can also be found in the following article on the same topic.

Why does icTrainer on Android need location permission?

This is necessary so that BluetoothLE can be activated: Two permissions must be granted here: ACCESS_FINE_LOCATION / ACCESS_COARSE_LOCATION. We do not access your location information anywhere on the device.

icTrainer (program file/setup file) is recognized as suspicious by the virus scanner

Some virus scanners always first identify executable files (.exe) as suspicious and then subject the file to a separate check. This only happens to the first user who calls the file and only once. When this is done (usually after 90 minutes), you can then start the file normally without the warning.
We try to solve this problem beforehand by submitting the file to the virus scanner manufacturers so that the file can be checked. However, we are dependent on your help, i.e. if you have a virus scanner that reports icTrainer as suspicious, please let us know and tell us which virus scanner you are using and we will contact the manufacturer so that this can be done there before our delivery of a new version is checked.
Of course, the App Store versions of icTrainer do not have this problem, as they are intensively checked in advance by the App Store providers.

Why is the music playing too fast?

The music from the Microsoft Store version plays too quickly on a few computers, but this does not happen with the Windows Installer version on the same computers, even though the files are exactly the same. We are in the process of analyzing the error and please use the Windows Installer version until then if necessary. If you have installed the Windows installer and Microsoft Store version in parallel and they use the same program directory, you can still use the App Store license function.

More music? Help us!

Of course, one of our goals is to offer many training programs with motivating music. The problem is that this either causes costs that we would have to pass on again or we need enough license-free music.
If you are willing to have your own music or the music of your band integrated into the training programs as royalty-free with a Creative Commons license 3-0/4.0 (CC3.0/CC 4.0) or a professional license, you will receive our eternal gratitude also the corresponding attribution in the training programs.
With a professional license, the use of the music is restricted to the icTrainer project, ie neither we nor anyone else may use the music outside of icTrainer. This restriction does not apply to the Creative Commons license. You only have to tell us which license you want to choose when you pass on the music.
You can send us the music via the contact form or at least initiate contact and we will clarify the details in advance. It is important that you really own the rights to the music, otherwise you will bring us into the devil’s kitchen.

More GPX videos? Help us!

We would be delighted if you shared GPX videos of competition routes, famous climbs or great laps with us and made the videos you recorded available for everyone to download. At this point, the mp4 and the matching fit/gpx file are sufficient for us. Just write an email and we will clarify how we can exchange the data.

My trainer shows up as connected in icTrainer, but ERG mode doesn’t work

Please check whether you have connected another power control via ANT+ actively (ie switched on) to your roller trainer (e.g. via bike computer or smartphone). In this case, the roller trainer unfortunately doesn’t know where to get the ERG mode from. Another device (e.g. bike computer) may only be connected in parallel via ANT+ for performance measurement . With Garmin bike computers, for example, it can be connected in parallel under the sensor type Performance , but not as a sensor type Indoor Trainer , or with the sensor type Indoor Trainer , the bike computer must remain switched off during training with icTrainer.

What constitutes effective bike/roller training on the roller or spinning bike?

A balanced relationship between endurance and speed units No constant overstimulation from too many hard units Reasonable regeneration (also with active regeneration units) Fun in training, whether alone or in pairs or in a group Motivation to endure even the longest units The right thing for do the right time (and not waste time pointlessly with no result, “junk miles”)

Further information

You can find more background knowledge in our extensive video tutorials

To the YouTube tutorials

FAQs

Auf dieser Seite probieren wir dir Antworten auf deine Fragen rund um das Thema Indoor Cycling und unsere Software zu geben.

Wie starte ich am einfachsten & schnellsten mit icTrainer?

Wie haben dir zur ersten Orientierung eine kleine Schnellstart-Anleitung (PDF) erstellt.

Warum muss ich mehr Watt treten als im ERG-Modus eingestellt sind?

Einige Rollentrainer können bei niedrigen Watt-Vorgaben und hoher Trittfrequenz in Abhängikeit von der gewählten Übersetzung leider den Wiederstand nicht genug reduzieren. Manchmal hilft es, den leichtesten Gang am Fahrrad zu wählen.
Beispiel: https://support.garmin.com/de-AT/?faq=4PAzxvbvOL6AliMxKaShQ9

Warum unterstützt icTrainer nur Devices mit BluetoothLE und nicht ANT+?

Es ist somit kein ANT+-USB-Stick für die Verbindung an Tablet, Laptop oder Rechner notwendig. BluetoothLE unterstützen all diese Geräte aber von Haus aus. Du kannst weiterhin alle Trainingsleistungen wie gehabt parallel per ANT+ an deinem normalen Fitness-Tracker (Radcomputer, Fitness-Uhr, …) messen und auch an die App deiner Wahl übertragen und wir kommunizieren parallel per BluetoothLE mit den Geräten; wir zwingen dich damit nicht in einen anderen Kosmos; für Windows und MacOS kannst du dich aber mittlerweile mit deinem ANT+-Herzfrequenz-Gurt bzw. deine Fitness-Uhr mit ANT+ verbinden, vorausgesetzt du hast einen ANT+-USB-Stick an deinem Windows/Mac-Rechner installiert.

Warum wirkt die icTrainer-Oberfläche auf den ersten Blick so kompliziert/überladen?

Für uns ist ein ganz wichtiger Punkt, dass du auch während des Trainings alle anderen icTrainer-Funktionen nutzen kannst. So ist es z.B. auch in einer laufenden Trainingseinheit möglich, diese noch anzupassen, zu spulen, ihr Musik hinzuzufügen und vieles mehr. Dies verhält sich somit wie draußen, wo du dich auch kurzfristig entscheiden kannst, die Einheit zu verlängern, zu verkürzen oder noch einen Anstieg (und damit ein Belastungsintervall) mehr zu fahren. Dies geht aber nur mit einer Oberfläche (UI-UserInterface), die anfänglich evtl. etwas überladen wirkt. Wir geloben hier Besserung. Man gewöhnt sich aber schnell daran und weiß dieses „Feature“ dann bald zu schätzen.

Was bedeutet das „ic“ in icTrainer?

Pssssst….. ausgeschrieben heißt die Software eigentlich Indoor-Cycling-Trainer.
Auch wenn wir dir mittlerweile viel mehr Endgeräte ermöglichen 😉

Kann ich die Software auf mehreren Endgeräten nutzen?

Einmal gekauft = auf allen Endgeräten nutzbar – sogar betriebssystemübergreifend 😉

Ablauf:
Du kaufst zunächst unsere günstige Lizenz im App-Store deines Hauptgerätes.
Danach gehst du auf dem zweiten Endgerät in den Lizenz-Kaufen-Dialog und trägst dort die gleiche E-Mail-Adresse wie beim Hauptgerät ein und klickst auf den RESTORE-Button.
Die Software merkt dann, dass es für die E-Mail-Adresse bereits eine Lizenz auf einem anderen Endgerät gibt und du musst dann einen vierstelligen Sicherheitscode eingeben, welchen wir dir parallel an deine E-Mail-Adresse schicken.

Warum werden Höhenmeter so unterschiedlich gezählt?

Abhängig auf welchem Geräte oder mit welcher Software du auf die gleiche Strecke schaust, sind die Höhenmeterangaben sehr unterschiedlich? Das hat vor allem einen rechnerischen Grund. Natürlich kann auf einem Gerät der Barometer genauer sein als aus einem anderen Geräte. Dies macht aber gar nicht so viel aus. Genauso wenig ist der Grund, ob das Gerät gerade kalibiert ist, oder nicht. Die Höhenmeter werden ja relativ gezählt, ohne Kalibrierung stimmt dann „nur“ die Anfangshöhe und genauso die Endhöhe nicht. Entscheidender ist, ab wann zählt ein Höhenmeter!
Ist eine Strecke nur ansteigend, sprich jeder Messpunkt ist höher als der vorherige Messpunkt, ist es denkbar einfach. Die Höhenmeter sind der höchste minus dem niedrigste Messpunkt. Was aber, wenn eine Strecke wellig ist und somit mal ein Messpunkt ein paar Zentimeter unter, mal über dem letzten Messpunkt liegt? Hier gibt es je nach Geräte/Software eine Grenze ab, wann ein Höhenmeter überhaupt zählt. Dies ist oft, aber nicht immer um die 3 Meter. Sprich, wenn du 2,99m „bergauf“ fährst und dann 2,99m „bergab“ wird dies nicht als Höhenmeter gezählt, sondern als flache Strecke mit 0 Höhenmetern, gleiches gilt für 10cm bergauf, 10 cm bergab, 10cm bergauf, 10cm bergab… Genau hier liegt auch oft die Logik in den Verfahren, wo Strava und GarminConnect die Höhenmeter „neu“ berechnen und auf die Werte kommen, die wir so kennen.
Und genau dies ist auch der Grund, warum bei richtigen Anstiegen, die Werte sehr nah beisammen liegen, bei welligen bzw. flachen Strecken aber weit auseinander. Auf einer relativ flachen Strecke liegt der Unterschied zwischen der zentimetergenauen Addition der Höhenmeter und der Glättung im Bereich Faktor 3 und hier ist der Unterschied umso geringer, umso besser der Barometer ist.

Hierzu ein paar Vergleiche auf Basis einer mit einem Garmin-Radcomputer gefahren Strecke des Challenge Roth (erste Runde plus Abfahrt, d.h. 93,6 km, die zweite Runde ist nur knapp 85km lang), die diese sehr gut verdeutlichen:
Die hieraus resultierende GPX-Datei hat 11.236 einzelne Punkte. Rechnet man die Höhenmeter zentimetergenau kommt man auf 1.397hm (a). Rechnet man wieder alle Höhenmeteränderungen kleiner als 3m heraus, kommt man auf 701hm (b).
Die Originalstrecke kommt bei GarminConnect mit Höhenkorrektur auf 803hm (c) und ohne Höhenmeterkorrektur (d.h. barometrisch) auf f=709hm (d). Wir sehen, dass somit (b) und (d) nur 8 Meter auseinander liegen. Dies sollte als ein realitischer Wert sein.
icTrainer glättet die Strecke im GPX-Modus mit dem Mittelwert von jeweils 15 Sekunden, somit kommt man noch auf 751 Punkte mit zentimetergenauen 804hm (e) und wieder alle Höhenmeteränderungen kleiner als 3m herausgerechnet 699hm (d). Somit entspricht der Wert (d) aus icTrainer wieder fast genau den oben genannten Werten (b) und (d).
Lädt man nun die in icTrainer gefahren Strecke nach GarminConnect hoch, so kommt man dort mit Höhenkorrektur auf 901hm (g) und ohne Höhenmeterkorrektur auf 702hm (h). Auch hier sehen wir der Wert (h) liegt sehr nah an (d), (b) und (d).
Man sieht hier die breit gefächerten Ergebnisse. Challenge Roth gibt für die Gesamtstrecke übrigens 1.200hm an, was 625hm auf der ersten Runde plus Abfahrt und 575hm für die zweite Runde bedeuten würden. Diese Angabe ist also nochmals deutlich niedriger gerechnet.
Ähnliche Informationen finden sich auch in folgendem Artikel zum gleichen Thema.

Warum braucht icTrainer auf Android die Standort-Berechtigung?

Dies ist notwendig, damit BluetoothLE aktiviert werden kann: Es müssen hier zwei Berechtigungen erteilt werden: ACCESS_FINE_LOCATION / ACCESS_COARSE_LOCATION. Wir greifen an keiner Stelle über das Device auf deine Standort-Informationen zu.

icTrainer (Programmdatei/Setupdatei) wird vom Virenscanner als verdächtig erkannt

Einige Virenscanner erkennnen ausführbare Dateien (.exe) zuerst immer als verdächtig und unterziehen die Datei dann einer gesonderten Prüfung. Dies passiert nur beim ersten User, der die Datei aufruft und nur einmal mal. Wenn diese erfolgt ist (normalerweise nach 90 Minuten), kann man die Datei danach ganz normal ohne die Warnung starten.
Wir versuchen dieses Problem vorab zu lösen, indem wir die Datei bei den Virenscanner-Herstellern einreichen, damit die Datei überprüft wird. Wir sind aber auf eure Hilfe angewiesen, sprich, wenn ihr einen Virenscanner habt, der icTrainer als verdächtig meldet, gebt uns bitte Bescheid und sagt uns, welchen Virenscanner ihr nutzt und wir setzen uns mit dem Hersteller in Verbindung, damit dies dort zukünftig vor unserer Auslieferung einer neuen Version gecheckt wird.
Die App-Store-Versionen von icTrainer haben dieses Problem natürlich nicht, da sie vorab von den App-Store-Providern intensiv geprüft werden.

Warum spielt die Musik zu schnell ab?

Auf einigen, wenigen Rechnern spielt sich die Musik der Microsoft-Store-Version zu schnell ab, dies passiert auf den gleichen Rechnern allerdings nicht mit der Windows-Installer-Version, obwohl es exakt die gleichen Dateien sind. Wir sind dabei den Fehler zu analysieren und bitte bis dahin im Bedarfsfall die Windows-Installer-Version zu nutzen. Wenn ihr die Windows-Installer und Microsoft-Store-Version parallel installiert habt und diese das gleiche Programm-Verzeichnis nutzen, könnt ihr trotzdem die App-Store-Lizenz-Funktion nutzen.

Mehr Musik? Helft uns!

Natürlich ist es eines unserer Ziele viele Trainingsprogramme mit motivierender Musik anzubieten. Problem dabei ist, dass dies entweder Kosten verursacht, welche wir wieder umwälzen müssten oder wir benötigen genügend lizenzfreie Musik.
Falls ihr bereit seid eure eigene Musik bzw. Musik eure Band als GEMAfrei mit Creative-Commons-Lizenz 3-0/4.0 (CC3.0/CC 4.0) oder einer Professional Lizenz in die Trainingsprogramme integrieren zu lassen, bekommt ihr neben unserer ewigen Dankbarkeit auch die dementsprechende Namensnennung in den Trainingsprogrammen.
Bei einer Professional Lizenz bleibt die Nutzung der Musik auf das Projekt icTrainer beschränkt, d.h. weder wir noch sonst jemand darf die Musik außerhalb von icTrainer verwenden, bei der Creative-Commons-Lizenz gibt es diese Einschränkung nicht. Ihr müsst uns daher bei Weitergabe der Musik nur mitteilen, welche Lizenz gewählt werden soll.
Ihr könnt uns die Musik per Kontaktformular senden oder zumindest darüber den Kontakt anbahnen und wir klären vorab die Details. Wichtig ist, dass ihr wirklich die Rechte an der Musik besitzt, sonst bringt ihr uns in Teufels-Küche.

Mehr GPX-Videos? Helft uns!

Wir würden uns wahnsinnig freuen, wenn Du GPX-Videos von Wettkampfstrecken, berühmten Anstiegen oder tollen Runden mit uns teilst und die von Dir aufgenommenen Videos zum Download für alle zur Verfügung stellst. Uns reicht an der Stelle die mp4- und die dazu passende fit-/gpx-Datei. Schreib einfach eine Mail und wir klären, wie wir die Daten austauschen können.

Wie bekomme ich meine Trainingsdaten von/zu TrainingPeaks, today´s plan, etc.?

Einfach im Wizard / Startseite auf „Rider“ bzw. „Rider konfigurieren“ gehen und dann die Trainingsplattform auswählen.
Auf der Wizard / Startseite sollte dann ein roter Button mit „TrainingPeaks, bzw. Todays Plan“ sichtbar sein, dann ist Todays Plan beim User aktiviert.
Wichtig ist, dass man das Trainingsergebnis speichert. Klickt man dort auf abbrechen, wird nichts hochgeladen.
Mehr Details gibt es auch in unserem Video-Tutorial…

Mein Rollentrainer wird in icTrainer als verbunden angezeigt, aber der ERG-Modus funktioniert nicht

Bitte prüfe, ob du evtl. parallel noch eine weitere Leistungssteuerung per ANT+ aktiv (d.h. eingeschaltet) an deinen Rollentrainer angeschlossen hast (z.B. via Radcomputer oder Smartphone). In diesem Fall weiß der Rollentrainer leider nicht, woher er den ERG-Modus beziehen soll. Ein weiteres Gerät (z.B. Radcomputer) darf nur zur Leistungsmessung parallel per ANT+ angeschlossen sein. Bei Garmin Radcomputern darf es z.B. parallel unter dem Sensoren-Typ Leistung, aber nicht als Sensoren-Typ Indoor Trainer verbunden sein bzw. beim Sensor-Typ Indoor Trainer muss der Radcomputer während des Training mit icTrainer ausgeschaltet bleiben.

Was macht effektives Rad-/Rollentraining auf der Rolle oder dem Spinning-Rad aus?

Ein ausgewogenes Verhältnis zwischen Ausdauer- und Tempo-Einheiten Keine ständige Überreizung durch zu viele harte Einheiten Eine vernünftige Regeneration (auch mit aktiven Regenerationseinheiten) Spaß am Training, ob alleine oder zu zweit oder auch in der Gruppe Motivation auch die längsten Einheiten durchzuhalten Das richtige zur richtigen Zeit tun (und nicht sinnlos Zeit verbraten ohne Ergebnis, „Junk-Miles“)

Weitere Informationen

Mehr Hintergrundwissen, findest du in unseren umfangreichen Video-Tutorials

Zu den YouTube-Tutorials